Sports Scholar Induction evening

Last week at the UEL SportsDock I got to be involved with an event for the university’s sports scholars.  Recently at the 2012 London Olympics a former UEL scholar, Gemma Gibbons, won a silver medal in Judo at the games so aspirations were high amongst the current crop of young athletes. Firstly, the students were giving training and advice on how to deal with the media and then they were given their UEL scholarships.
For my part of the night I got to interview some of the students including Ali Jawad who represented Paralympic’s GB at Powerlifting at the summer games, Lumar Sylvester who won a bronze medal at the London Olympic Stadium at this year’s BUCS T&F championship and Szandra Szogedi an aspiring young Judo star hoping to represent Hungary at the 2016 Rio Olympics.
It was my first time doing live interviews in front of a camera but I managed to hit my stride and it came as natural to me as doing the web & audio only interviews for my own website (http://maximumsnooker.com).
Overall I had a great time, speaking to the scholars was fun and meeting more of the UELSports team was very helpful and I look forward to working with them all in the years to come.

University of East London’s Sports Scholars 2012-2013

 

Stephen Kent

2nd year Sports Journalism Student

Leave a Reply

