Dealing with dissapointment

Andy Burns with Team GbLast time I contributed to this blog I had been waiting on the decision from the selectors for the European Championships. Well the decision went in my favor and I got the nomination to represent GBR at the first major event in this Olympic cycle, but unfortunately it wasn’t to be. On the penultimate day of the final preparation I tore a muscle in my groin and subsequently had to withdraw from the tournament, which is a tough pill to swallow.

Injury, loss and disappointment are a given in high performance sport, especially in Judo where anyone can win on their day regardless of past performances or form. I firmly believe it is how you deal with these defeats and injuries that makes or breaks you as an athlete. Fortunately there are plenty more opportunities on the horizon, and providing the injury rehabilitation goes according to plan there will be four big tournaments in four weeks in June: –

Bucharest, Romania

Tallin, Estonia

Miami, USA

San Salvador, El Salvador

I have to say I really enjoyed taking the time out from training to attend the annual UEL sports award evening at which I won an International Achievement award alongside some exceptional athletes including the bright young sprinter Adam Gemili.

Leave a Reply

