Latest Q & A’s from our Taekwondo and Netball clubs

Name: Stephen Zheng

Sport: Taekwondo 

What sport do you participate in at UEL? And how do you fit it in with your studies?

I’ve been with the UEL’s taekwondo club for just gone four years and counting. Since our training time is in the evenings it fit perfectly with my university and work timetable.

What benefits do you feel you gain from participating in your sport?

When I was a little kid I used to watch martial arts movies a lot and like every kid I always wanted to be able to do what I saw on film.

In the last four years of practising taekwondo I have seen my stamina, flexibility, core strength and energy levels increase greatly. It has allowed me to do things I have never thought possible, like the things I watched in kung fu movies but I wouldn’t consider those to be my greatest gain from taekwondo. Taekwondo has exposed me to a whole different culture and people I wouldn’t dream of meeting. Through taekwondo, I’ve met people from all other universities and on several occasions I have had the chance to meet olympic gold medalists through taekwondo.

What advice would you give to another student who may be interested in joining one of the sports clubs but is afraid of their studies preventing them from doing so?

All of the UEL Sports clubs have multiple training sessions a week all at different times, if you cannot make all the training sessions it’s not a problem at all. I would suggest contacting the club you are interested in joining and just have a chat with them. In our club there are a few members that can only training once per week and it is not a problem for them and if someone cannot make it to one of the sessions, they just let us know in advance.

If there is anyone who wants to join your club, how could they get in touch?

if you are interested in joining us, you can always reach us throughout the UEL Taekwondo Facebook page, just join and post a message to us. alternatively you can email us at taekwondo@uel.ac.uk

 

Name: Romanie Bailey

Sport: Netball

What sport do you participate in at UEL? And how do you fit it in with your studies?

Netball – I seemed to be a pretty organised person so as off yet Netball hasn’t got in the way of studies and assignments. A weekly training session of an evening is easy to fit in with studies and/or lectures, and being a sports student my Wednesday’s are free, so it is either focussed on a Netball game or my studies.

What benefits do you feel you gain from participating in your sport?

Since joining the Netball club, I have met a lot of new people and have made close friends; this makes training and game days an enjoyable experience for me and the team.

Obviously I have gained fitness benefits from weekly training sessions and playing competitive. This year especially, the netball club have been focussed on implementing a wide range of fitness training within sessions, with a Strength and Conditioning coach taking part of our sessions which help us transfer components of fitness and/or skills within our overall performance.

Being a responsible part of the club has also helped me learn and adapt new skills such as; time management, interpersonal skills, communication, organisation, punctuality.

What advice would you give to another student who may be interested in joining one of the sports clubs but is afraid of their studies preventing them from doing so?

I’m a third year student in the process of writing my dissertation, so far Netball hasn’t interfered with my studies, and sometimes playing sport at least once a week can help relieve the stress from studies and assignments.

The netball club seem to be a close team and always in contact with each other and the coach, therefore if netball ever distracted me from my studies then I’m sure everyone would understand and agree that work comes first.

Joining a sports club is also a great opportunity to meet new people and gain a new group of friends.

If there is anyone who wants to join your club, how could they get in touch?

Email – I’m always available to give more information and answer questions: romaniebailey@live.com

Facebook: UEL Netball

Or simply turning up to training – Every Monday, Arena 2 6-8pm

 

Leave a Reply

