My life as a UELSports Tennis Scholar

Hey everyone,

We’ve all been back at uni for 4 weeks now and although I’ve already had to miss a number of lectures, academically the semester has started well. I was over the moon with my results for the Biomechanics exam I took in January – the one that I thought had gone terribly! I also did well in my other Semester A module – Sports Development.

Unfortunately, the tennis side of things has not been going quite so swimmingly. I mentioned in my last blog that an old foot injury had flared up and I have been having scans and tests done to try to get to the root of the problem. The doctors found a couple of things on the scans and it was decided that the best course of action was to have a cortisone injection (two cortisone injections actually – one in my left foot, one in my right shoulder). The idea behind the cortisone is that it should settle the inflammation around the affected area to allow me to play pain free again.

I have just had the injections this morning and as I’m not allowed to drive (after a cortisone injection, it’s important to move around as little as possible for the first 48 hours), I’m currently on the train to my boyfriend’s house in Leicester for a few days of TLC! I have spent the past couple of hours wizzing around in a wheelchair provided by a lovely bloke working for special assistance at St Pancras (advice from the doctor, not laziness – honest!) I have a good friend (ex-UEL sports scholar and Paralympian, Ali Jawad, who spends his life in a wheelchair and I have a new found respect for him and others in the same position – it’s seriously hard work!

In 10 days from now, I hope to be able to compete in BUCS Individuals. I am the reigning BUCS champion and I would be so disappointed if I was not able to try and defend my title and win another gold medal for UEL. The guys did great last weekend representing the university and UEL won medals in judo, boxing and athletics. The tennis is also being held at Graves Tennis Centre in Sheffield, which happens to be 5 minutes from my house, so fingers crossed I will be ready. Whether I am fit enough to play BUCS or not, I have a lot of rehab to do following the injection.

I have had problems with my left foot for a long time now, so I’m not pinning all my hopes on the cortisone injection, but it is good to know that I am being well looked after by the sports medicine team and with a bit of luck, it will help in the long term. I’m not sure when I will be able to get back on the court but for the next few days at least, hopefully I will be able to get lots of uni work done, and maybe watch a movie or two J

Again, a big thanks to Dr. Justin who has been amazing! And thanks to the doctor (whose name I don’t know, but he was quite a character!) who gave me the ultra sound guided cortisone injections! Fingers crossed. I’m off to lay on the sofa for 48 hours!

Anna

Leave a Reply

