UELSports Judo scholar going for gold in Glasgow

Szandra2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Name : Szandra Szogedi

Age: 26

Weight category: -57kg

Club: Camberley Judo Club (CJC)

Country: Ghana

Best results:

Senior Continental Championships – Bronze

Grand Prix – 5th Place

University World Games – 9th Place

Favourite technique: Ure-nage

Favourite quote: ‘No-one is going to come to your house and make your dreams become true.’

When, where and how did you start judo?

I started judo in Hungary, where I was born. I was 11 years old when I first stepped on the tatami and that is thanks to my older sister. She was a very good judoka and her success inspired me to start judo and follow her.

When did you decide to have judo as your lifestyle?

It was always one of my goals to be able to call myself an elite athlete in my own discipline. Back home we never did any sports as a hobby so I did not have an actual time frame when I had to make a decision to take it serious. I always did it seriously since childhood.

When did you move to CJC?

Well, I moved here only few months ago, but I have to say that it was one of the best decisions I made in my life.

What does it mean to you to represent your country at the second biggest Mega-Event?

Well, as I said, I was born in Hungary. Shortly after I moved to the UK, I met my lovely husband who is also a judoka, and we decided that I will represent Ghana. For me this tournament is very important because I will be up to make history for our country. Ghana never had a female Commonwealth Games medallist, so it is all up to me now to make it happen.

What will be your main focus leading up to the Commonwealth Championships?

I still have my continental championships in few weeks’ time so I must say that is my number one focus now and once I am done with that than we will finalise my preparation with my coach, Luke Preston.

Will you settle for less than gold?

It is judo, anything can happen. Of course I will be going for gold and realistically it is also achievable. With a great preparation I cannot see any reason why I should not win it.

‘Proud to be part of CJC’:

I only been here few months but I can safely say this is my second family. It is priceless to be surrounded with such an amazing team. We hard together and we all support each other no matters what. I have been in many clubs and I must say there is nothing like this…

List of results throughout the commonwealth qualification:

Because of my continental bronze medal I won earlier I automatically qualified myself to the Games.

Follow Szandra on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Szandra-Szogedi/660734247325882?fref=ts

Twitter: @szandra57

Leave a Reply

